Osun, Ekiti, Ogun, Oyo boycott confab advisory committee session


The Presidential Advisory Committee on national dialogue, stakeholders interactive session was held on Friday in Akure, the Ondo State capital with absence of representatives from Osun, Ekiti, Oyo and Ogun states at the session
The stakeholders are mainly from the hosting Ondo State. The session started far behind schedule and also witnessed a low turn out of the people.
Earlier, a group, the Oodua Nationalist Coalition (ONAC) had staged a protest at the entrance of the venue of the event calling on President Goodluck Jonathan to ensure that the representation to the proposed national conference should be drawn from various ethnic nationalities in the country.
The group opined that in order to save time and tax payers money, each geo-political zone should hold its own conference and come up with its resolution, which will be taken to the national conference for adoption.
Besides, the group said the present 36- state structure should be abolished, calling for the restructure and institutions of the government devolved into six regional federation.
ONAC said each region should be empowered to create states or countries on it own, stressing that the South west region be made up of Lagos, Oyo, Ogun, …

Source: The Sun News


About Author

Leave A Reply